Tung Wah College - School of Nursing - About NUR - Message from the Acting Dean Skip to Content
  • mail
  • blackboard
  • facebook
  • instagram
  • youtube
  • Search
  • PowerCampus
Taint●Wisdom●Commitment
Normal Contrast
Font SizeDown Arrow
Medium

ENG
Down Arrow
Message from the Acting Dean
The School of Nursing is committed to providing quality nursing education, promoting high standard of nursing practice and nurturing competent and caring nurses. We provide a diversity of degree and sub-degree programmes including Bachelor of Health Science (Hons) with majors in Nursing and Applied Gerontology, Higher Diploma in Nursing, and Diploma in Health Studies (Navigation Scheme for Young Persons in Care Services) programmes to equip students with capabilities to take up different roles in the healthcare sector.
 
Most of our programmes adopt Challenge-Based Learning approach which encourages students to explore problems proactively, seek solutions through literature review and discussions with experts while utilizing their creativity in the process. It is crucial to prepare nurses with problem-solving and decision-making skills so that they can handle different challenging situations at their workplaces, including hospital wards and residential care homes in the community. We put lots of resources and efforts to facilitate our students to acquire these skills in our programmes.
 
Apart from developing students’ professional knowledge and hands-on skills, the School also focuses on cultivating their caring attributes, such as compassion, competence, and commitment. Under the supervision of clinical faculties, students will undergo clinical practicum at different hospitals and community settings to have real-life exposures and direct patient interactions that would enhance their communication skills and their sensitivity to patients’ needs.
 
Our Bachelor of Health Science (Hons) Major in Nursing programme adopts an integrative approach to apply disciplinary knowledge in care delivery with a good understanding of the concepts of restorative health, nurturing health (四氣養生), and preventive health (治未病). Besides, the School operates the Integrative Health Centre (IHC) to provide services including Traditional Chinese Medicine and health talks to the general public to promote the wellbeing and health of the community. The IHC is also a venue for conducting scientific research and clinical practicum of our students.
 
The School has its first batch of Bachelor of Health Science (Hons) – Major in Nursing students graduated in 2015. Our graduates were well received by the employers with around 90% of them secured jobs in the healthcare sector in the graduation year. The School is growing, not only in size, but in quality and impact. We have initiated several study abroad options for our students, and are increasingly extending our global collaboration. If you are a student looking for an innovative, caring, and well-equipped learning environment, we invite you to explore the programmes in our website and discover all that the School of Nursing offers.
 
Prof. Meyrick Chow
Acting Dean and Professor
School of Nursing


Tung Wah College Logo
King’s Park Campus
Ma Kam Chan Memorial Building,
31 Wylie Road, Homantin, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Mongkok Campus
Cheung Kung Hai Memorial Building, 90A,
and Cheung Chin Lan Hong Building, 98,
Shantung Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Telephone
(852) 3190 6678
Email
enquiry@twc.edu.hk

東華學院 - 護理學院 - 關於我們 - 署理院長的話 Skip to Content
  • mail
  • blackboard
  • facebook
  • instagram
  • youtube
  • Search
  • PowerCampus
才、智、承擔
標準色彩對比
字體大小Down Arrow

繁體
Down Arrow
署理院長的話
護理學院致力提供優質護理教育和發展專業,為社會培育術德兼備的護理人員。學院提供多元化的本科及副學位課程,如:健康科學學士(榮譽)學位(主修護理學或應用老人學)、護理學高級文憑及健康科學文憑(青年護理服務啟航計劃)等,以裝備學生在不同的醫護崗位作出貢獻。
 
本院大部份課程採用挑戰導向學習模式,鼓勵學生主動發掘問題,並透過與專家討論、參考文獻以及運用創意去解決問題。作為護理人員,解難和判斷能力缺一不可。因此,我們一直投放大量資源和努力,以期透過課程培訓學生相關能力,裝備他們應付在醫院或安老院舍工作所面對的種種挑戰。
 
除了為學生提供專業知識和實務技能,學院亦致力培養學生的心靈素質,希望他們成為具愛心、能力和承擔感的護理專才。在導師的指導下,學生會到不同的醫院及社區護理機構進行實習來加強臨床經驗,透過親身接觸服務對象,以期提升溝通能力以及對病者感受和需要的敏銳度。
 
本院的健康科學學士(榮譽)學位(主修護理學)課程涵蓋不同範疇的護理及保健知識,引入中醫「四氣養生」和「治未病」的概念。另外,學院也營辦結合保健中心,為公眾提供中醫門診及舉行健康講座等服務,以促進社群的身心健康及提升其相關的知識水平。中心亦會用作教學及研究之用,為學生提供實踐及進行研究的機會。
 
護理學院的首批健康科學學士(榮譽)學位(主修護理學)課程的學生已於2015年畢業,而約九成畢業生已於畢業同年獲受聘於醫護界。護理學院不僅在收生人數有佷大的增長,同時在教學和科研質素都不斷提升。我們亦致力與不同國家的院校合作,為學生開辦了多個海外交流學團。如果您希望於一個求創新、重關懷和具備優良設備的環境下學習,我們誠邀您瀏覽我們的網頁,了解更多護理學院的課程和資訊。
 
周湛明教授
署理院長及教授
護理學院


Tung Wah College Logo
京士柏校舍
香港九龍何文田衛理道31號
馬錦燦紀念大樓
旺角校舍
香港九龍旺角山東街
90號A鍾江海紀念大樓及
98號鍾秦蘭鳳大樓
電話
(852) 3190 6678
電郵
enquiry@twc.edu.hk